After last month starting testing, WhatsApp finally released the View Once feature to the public. This feature allows users to send photos or videos that automatically disappear after viewing. So the recipient can only see it once, before it disappears automatically.
On its blog, WhatsApp says this feature will give users more control over their privacy. View Once feature is also expected to be useful for many things, for example when sending photos containing Wi-Fi passwords to friends.
WhatsApp also explained that photos or videos sent via View Once feature will be protected by end-to-end encryption so that they cannot be seen by anyone. After the photo or video is viewed, there will be an “opened” message in the chat so that users are not confused.
In FAQ about View Once feature, WhatsApp also outlines the provisions regarding this new feature:
- The media will not be saved in Gallery or Photos on the recipient’s phone.
- Once a user sends a photo or video via View Once they won’t be able to view it again.
- Photos or videos sent or received via View Once feature cannot be forwarded, saved, tagged or shared.
- Users can only see open recipients or videos if they enable read receipts.
- If the photo or video sent to the chat is not opened within 14 days, the media will expire in the chat.
- Users must always enable View Once if they want to send photos or videos that can only be viewed once.
- Media View Once can be restored from a backup if the message is not opened when the backup is performed, but if it has been opened it will disappear by itself and is not saved and cannot be restored
If you are curious about how to use the View Once feature, you can read this article further.
Using the View Once Feature on WhatsApp
- Open the WhatsApp application on your cellphone
- Select a friend or family on the WhatsApp list to send a photo or video.
- Like sending files in a normal chat, select the camera icon in the chat room and select the photo or video to send.
- Before sending the photo/video, tap the option or icon with the number (1) which is located in the caption column. Later, the words Photo/Video set to view once will appear.
- When the photo/video has been sent, the recipient must tap it to view its contents.
You can also do the same on WhatsApp web. But first, make sure that the WhatsApp application on the main device is using the latest version.